Powered by Blogger.

More fun with sports rules, Basketball edition

Here is a fun one: In the NBA, if a player picks up his sixth foul when his team only has five remaining, the player is not out of the game. He continues playing, although a technical foul is called on the sixth and every subsequent foul he commits. The rule allowed the Lakers' Robert Sacre to continue playing in a game the Lakers ultimately won; the team had only dressed eight players, two got hurt, and one fouled out before Sacre did.

Naturally, someone raised the question of how the rule might be manipulated--could every player on the team suddenly be "injured," allowing the star to keep playing if he fouls out?

  • Digg
  • Del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS


Post a Comment